Eriospermum paradoxum, from here.

Belongs within: Monocotyledoneae.
Contains: Pandanales, Liliales, Commelinidae, Lomandraceae, Orchidaceae, Asteliaceae, Hypoxidaceae, Iridaceae, Hemerocallidaceae, Asphodelaceae, Amaryllidaceae, Allium, Hyacinthaceae, Agavaceae, Anthericaceae, Asparagus.

The name 'Liliidae' has been used for a major subdivision of the monocotyledons, species of which often have showy trimerous flowers. Recent studies of monocot phylogeny have indicated that the 'Liliidae' is paraphyletic with regard to the Commelinidae, and the latter is here treated as a subdivision of the former. Possible synapomorphies of this expanded clade are the absence of a nucellar cap, and a nuclear endosperm (Angiosperm Phylogeny Website).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Markup Key:
- <b>bold</b> = bold
- <i>italic</i> = italic
- <a href="">FoS</a> = FoS